Ready for Running Shoes

Running

 

I decided to take today’s workout outside. Here lately I’ve been craving fresh air, friendly faces and sun shine beaming on my skin. Lucky for me there is a fabulous trail around a golf right in between my job and my apartment. I headed there just after work and joined the throngs of people, pets and baby strollers at the park.

It took me about a quarter mile to get into it, but once I did, IT.WAS.ON. I tapped into that inner beast mode and felt the desire to really push my body. I even ran. Yes…RAN, not jog. I don’t know what got into me, but I just felt like sprinting. I felt like tearing through the trail, head high, arms pumping and legs strong. What’s even crazier is the fact that I enjoyed it. I love to feel my lungs expanding. I like how my locs sway. I even like how my breathing sounds. I can’t lie, I also get a kick out of passing the walkers (petty, I know, but it’s true!). I think I finally have arrived at that place where not only do I LIKE to work out, I like to work out hard.

I guess it’s time to get some running shoes… And just to think, this time last year my orthopedist candidly described my knees as those of a senior citizen and was ready to begin supartz injections. My knees didn’t bother me at all and I didn’t even think about grabbing a knee brace. That right there makes me feel happy and proud. I’ve come a long way on my wellness journey and I look forward to lacing up my running shoes and racing ahead.

Leave a Reply

